Data Strategy

August 29, 2007

My blog is censored in China :(

Filed under: Uncategorized — chucklam @ 5:10 pm

I thought posting would be light while I was traveling in China. I didn’t know that I wouldn’t be able to access my blog at all. At first I thought my blog was so important that the Chinese government went out of their way to block it, but it turned out that I just couldn’t access anything on wordpress.com. I didn’t get a 404 but the connection just timed out. It was a similar experience trying to get to wikipedia.com.

I know the locals have special browsers and software to tunnel around and gain access to these “forbidden” sites. I wasn’t motivated enough (and I didn’t speak enough Mandarin) to figure it all out. Besides, I was already able to read all the blogs that I regularly follow, as I normally use Yahoo’s RSS Reader, which functions as a proxy. I had no problem accessing any of the American news sites (e.g. NYT, WSJ) either, as they were not blocked.

At any rate, I’m back and will start posting regularly again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

